May 21, 2017

L'Oasis Musicale: Concerts at the Cathedral and at St George's

Duccio di Buoninsegna, Jesus taking leave of his disciples, Museo dell'Opera del Duomo, Siena, 1308-11

"In a little while the world will no longer see me, but you will see me; because I live, you also will live[NRSV, John 14:19]."

The Sixth Sunday of Easter [Choir Notes]

10:00 am Choral Eucharist
The Cathedral Singers

Prelude: Sonata No. 3 in A Major: Andante Tranquillo [MusicMe], Felix Mendelssohn (1809-47)
Setting: Short Service, Adrian Batten (1590-1637)   

Introit: If ye love me [text/listen], Thomas Tallis (1505-1585)  
Motet: Holy Spirit, Lord of Grace [text], Christopher Tye (1505-73)
Postlude: Sonata no. 2 in C Minor: Allegro maestoso e vivace [MusicMe], Felix Mendelssohn   

12h45 Eucharistie chantée
Le Quatuor des chanteurs de la cathédrale

Prélude :  Praeludium b-moll, BWV 867 [YouTube], Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)  
Ordinaire :  Missa en la,  Pompeo Cannicciari (1670-1744)

Introït :  Oculi omnium [texte/YouTube], Charles Wood (1866-1926)

Motet :  Jesu dulcis memoria [texte/écoutez], Tomás Luis de Victoria (1548–1611)

Postlude :  Fuga in b-moll, BWV 867 [YouTube], Johann Sebastian Bach

4:00 pm Evensong
The Cathedral Singers
(For live streaming via Radio Ville Marie, click here)

Prelude: Sonata no. 2 in C Minor: Grave, Adagio [MusicMe], Felix Mendelssohn (1809-47)

Introit: Non vos relinquam orphanos [text], Charles H. Giffen (b. 1940)  

Preces: Plainsong

Psalm: 24, tone 7.5

Magnificat: Tone 2.1, fauxbourdons, Carolus Andreas (17th cent.)

Nunc dimittis: Tone 8.1, fauxbourdons, Carolus Andreas

Anthem: Come, Holy Ghost [text/YouTube], Thomas Attwood (1765-1838)

Postlude: Sonata no. 2 in C Minor: Fuga [MusicMe], Felix Mendelssohn